Confessions of a trafficker

(A story by the Star) Pressing this as we don’t ordinarily hear these stories.

See orginal – http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2011/9/11/nation/9469580&sec=nation

KAJANG: Lured by the handsome commission he was promised to transport illegal immigrants, Nazri Abdullah (not his real name) threw caution to the wind by accepting the “job”, even though he was aware of the consequences if he got caught.

With a wife and four children to feed, the 52-year-old quit his factory job as he found it hard to make ends meet with his meagre salary.

“I was approached by a friend, who offered me an attractive commission to transport illegal immigrants,” he said.

“I was paid RM400 per head to transport the illegals from Myanmar, Pakistan, Thailand and Vietnam to several places across the country.

Filled with regret: ‘Nazri’ speaking up against the evils of human trafficking.

“I must admit that it was good money. I earned between RM20,000 and RM30,000 a month.

“I knew it was dangerous but the payment was too good to resist,” said Nazri, whose involvement in human trafficking began in 2003 until his arrest two years ago.

He was arrested when police, acting on a tip-off, raided his house in Machang, Kelantan.

He was sentenced to five years’ jail and slapped with a RM50,000 fine after he was found guilty under the Anti-Trafficking in Persons Act 2007.

After doing time behind bars, Nazri now says the money was not worth sacrificing his freedom and being with his family.

“I realise now that money isn’t everything. The time I lost is priceless. I miss my family very much,” he said.

Mazlinda Yusoff (not her real name) is serving a 10-year jail term for “selling” her 15-year-old friend.

“I began to get involved with the wrong crowd after the death of my grandmother.

“I ran away from home and stayed with a friend who introduced me to ways to get quick money,” said the 23-year-old from Malacca.

Mazlinda said she would approach young girls and lure them into selling their body for RM80 while her friend sourced for the customers.

Her “business venture” came to a halt when she was arrested after one of her victims reported her to the police.

When police raided the house, there were several underage girls believed to be human trafficking victims in the premises.

Another convicted human trafficker who wanted to be known as Karisma said she was forced to sell her friends and other girls after quitting school at the age of 17.

“I come from a poor background and do not have proper qualification to find a proper job.

“I followed my boyfriend and helped him sell girls,” she said.

The 21-year-old, who is also serving a 10-year jail sentence, said she had repented and wished she had followed her parents’ advice to stay out of trouble.

Leave a Reply

